Envisioning a Poverty Free World  

Yunus Microentrepreneurship Award


MCS Extended to 2015


Muhammad Microentrepreneurship Award


The Banco Estado of Chile has launched the Muhammad Microenterpreneurship Award in 2005 to recognize outstanding achievements in entrepreneurship in the country. Professor Yunus presented the first awards, which will be given annually to four outstanding entrepreneurs, at a ceremony in Santiago on April 21. The President of Banco Estado of Chile, Mr. Javier Etscheberry, presided.

The winners in 2005 are Juan Acuna in the category “Creativity and Innovation”, Gidsekka Ambul for “Outstanding Woman”, Carmel Milan in the category “Agricultural World” and Patricia Valdes for “Spirit and Enterprise”. The winners were selected from more than 14,000 entries this year.

From left: Javier Etscheberry, President of Banco Estado Chile, Juan Acuna, Gidsekka Ambul, Carmel Milan, Patricia Valdes, and Prof. Yunus

Report by Lamiya Morshed and Tania Sharmin
 Editor : Muhammad
Executive Editor : Khalid Shams 
Editorial Assistance :
Lamiya Morshed 
Editorial Advisory Board: Argentina : Pablo Broder, Buenos Aires     Australia : Shan Ali, Sydney     Chile : Benardo Javalquinto, Santiago     Colombia : Mauricio Fernandez, Bogota     France : Maria Nowak, Paris     Germany : Nancy Wimmer, Munich     Malaysia : David S. Gibbons, Kuala Lumpur     Philippines : Dr. Cecilia D. Del Castillo, Bacolod City     USA : Alexander Counts, Washington DC
Grameen Communications Official Home Page